SAGA Award 2021

We’re proud to announce the 5th edition of our ANNUAL SAGA Awards!

Have a look at the previous years: 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017

Here are the details:

** Grand Prize **

The finalists are named by an international jury for the Grand Prize. Finalists will be given a virtual slot/exhibition possibility at the Game Dev Days to present their games.

Submit your game pitches here: SAGA 2021 Google Form
The winners will be announced at the Game Dev Days.


  • Open to all independent game developers from Austria.
  • The game must be developed fully or partly in Austria.
  • The competition is also open for entries in the prototyping stage, and finalists will be mainly judged based on their potential.
  • Submissions must include a 2-3 minute pitch video including the gameplay of the game and a 1-minute trailer.
  • Games must be in a playable stage for the Game Dev Days (online) and must be presented at the virtual conference.
  • Award-winning games from previous years are not eligible for re-submission.


May 7, Preliminary Submission Deadline
May 18, Finalists Announced

Jun 18, Award Ceremony @ Game Dev Days Online

International Jury: 

  • Tara J. Brannigan, Director of Player Experience at Behaviour Interactive, Canada
  • Tobias Kopka, Freelance Curator, Facilitator, Advisor (curatomic / Reboot Develop et al.), Germany
  • Daniel Gilbert, Accessibility Advocate, Kentucky, US 
  • Maxi Molina, #TheHayseedKnigh, Spain
  • Philipp Stollenmayer, kamibox.de, Germany
  • Sithé Ncube, Founder at Prosearium.net and Ubongo Game Lab, A MAZE Johannesburg, Zambia
  • Ivan Buchta, Bohemia Interactive, Cz

Get to know the finalists!